Testimonials

 

  • Gary Rucci – Brisbane, Queensland

    • Thanks Mark & Carolyn for your warm friendly hospitality.  The cottage is awesome in every way.  Love the restoration & love the various artefacts, furniture & ‘old world Charm” pieces both inside and outside.  It is comforatble, well appointed, contempary & classic all at the sametime.  But your personality & hospitality makes it extra special.  Psalm 85:10 Mercy & Truth are net together righteous and peace have “kissed each other”

    • 14th – 17th September 2018

  • Donna, Mick: Seacliff Park, Adelaide

    • Stunning location.  Such effort into decorating & atmosphere.  Really appreciated the special effort to find gluten free goodies!

    • Homeaway review:  5 Stars:  Carolyn met us at the cottage, showed us around and left the fridge full of bacon, sausages, fresh eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, milk, bread (she even bought some gluten fresh chocolate biscuits for me) as well as fresh flowers in the bedroom.  The outdoor area bathtub would be great in Summer, instead we got a cozy by the fire after cooking steak on the BBQ.  The cottage is in a quiet spot, tucked in a lovely garden, has everything you need, is decorated with care and the heat lamps in the bathroom were a nice touch.  We will be back.
    • 1st – 3rd September 2018

  • Natasha, Family & Friends – Orroroo, SA

    • A Lovely Spot! Well set up, comfy and conveniently located.  tahn you we will be back!!

    • Facebook recommendation: 5 Stars:  Clean and cosy, comforatble, well appointed, and conveniently located.  Two families well catered for.  Thank you, we will be back.

    • 25th – 27th August 2018

  • Tara & Matthew – Aldinga, Adelaide, SA

    • Hi Guys,  Thanks for having us.  Was a lovely stay.  Very peaceful & invigorating.

    • 22nd – 25th August 2018

  • Brian – Adelaide, SA

    • Great place to spend a few days.  Very comfortable & well provisioned.  Made good use of the fire!  Many Thanks.

    • 17th – 20th August 2018

  • Mike & Ann – Adelaide, SA

    • Mark & CArolyn what an absolute pleasure to return to Crossfield cottage.  We feel so pampered just walking in the door.  Just love the peaceful atmosphere and beautiful way the cottage is presented.  We MUST plan a longer stay next time.

    • 11th August 2018

  • Mona – St Claire, Adelaide, SA

    • This was a lovely cottage to stay in.  Perfect for what I was looking for: peaceful, quiet getawat for me, to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city!  Love the mix of old and new with this place.  Mark and Carolyn, you did a fantastic job with the cottage!  I will definitely come back in the future.  Thank you for being available to me when I needed help 🙂

    • 6th – 9th August 2018

    • Google Review:  5 stars   Very beautiful place to stay! Owners are lovely and professional.  Great for a small getaway to yourself or with company.  Will definitley be back again x
  • Katrina & Jackson – Mildura, Vic

    • Such a beautiful cottage,  with such charm ans character.  Lovely thoughtful touches throughout.  Cannot wait to come back and spend some more time here.  Thanks again! 🙂

    • 4th August 2018

    • Facebook Review: 5 Stars;  Highly recommend, the amost amazing place to relax and unwind.
  • Melinda :  (One of the bridesmaids)    Adelaide, SA 

    • What a perfect location to spend time getting ready for a beautiful wedding.  A truly charming place with beautiful attention to detail.  Thank you for going above and beyond.  I would love to come and stay longer next time.

    • 27th – 29th July 2018

    • Facebook review: Recommends Crossfield Cottage/ Jessica Zimmermann: (BRIDE)  Stayed at Crossfield cottage the night before my wedding with my bridesmaids and Mum.  Absolutely loved everything about the cottage, from the thoughtful and delicious choclate platter and fruit platter that greeted us to the beautiful gardens, bathroom and spaces to get ready in.  Thank you Carolyn for helping to make our wedding so memorable!
  • Helena & David/Ken & Olga  –  Mt Gambier & Adelaide

    • Absolutely delightful place to stay.  The decor is also beautifully presented.  Attention to detail is so welcoming. A pleasure to be here.

    • Perfect getaway place.  Thank you

    • Perfect place for a relaxing, uplifitng, wonderful, comfortable stay.  Enjoyed all the highlights of “Yester year” too.   Thank you Carolyn & Mark for all those extra comforts – flowers, biscuits, wine & lit fire upon arrival.  Breakfast produce & antipasto platter was amazing.  We enjoyed exploring parts of the region.  We hadn’t yet explored – thank you for the vouchers too & for the personal greeting! Perfect getaway & opportunity for a visit & stay from my sister & brother in law too.  Leaving feeling refreshed!

    • The cottage decor, facilities & gardens are a real credit to you.  We will be back x

    • 19th July – 23rd July 2018

  • Caroline, Miriam & Deb – Riverland Destination, SA

    • What a absolute treasure 🙂  We loved our stay at the beautiful Crossfield Cottage – attention to detail & all the extra little touches made us feel so welcome!  Loved the warm fire & very comfortable beds!  Perfect for a quick girls weekend away.  Thank you so much! Highly recommend. X

    • Friday 13th July 2018

    • FaceBook Review: 5 Stars -Miriam – Thank you for providing such a gorgeous place for people to relax and enjoy all the Riverland has to offer. Beautifully presented and so many extra touches that help make a stay so special!
  • Shaun & Becky – Tea Tree Gully, SA 

    • We Certainly enjoyed our trip to the Riverland.  After exploring every day it felt like we had come home each night.  Very memorable & we are sure to return.  An absolute credit to you both X

    •  8th July – 11th July 2018 

  • Laura & Danni – Melbourne, Vic

    • Laura: This is the second time staying here and I absolutely love it.  It’s homely, finished beautifully and has everything one needs.  Highly recommend!

    • Danni: beautiful, restful place for a holiday!  So many lovely touches that makes it special

    • 3rd July – 6th July 2018

    • Facebook Review: 5 Stars: Laura:   I have now visited Crossfield Cottage twice and loved it both times. It is a beautiful, immaculately presented bed and breakfast. In an idyllic location, it is the perfect place to relax and have as a base to explore the Riverland. Everything is thought of right down to the finishing touches. Thank you for your generous hospitality. Can’t wait to return!
  • Michelle & Brad – Adelaide, SA

    • A perfect spot for a relaxing getaway. The cottage has everything you need no details overlooked.  We love getting out into the region -thank you for the vouchers. Def will recommend and return  🙂

    • 29th June – 1st July 2018

    • Facebook: 5 Stars: From the first interaction at booking stage, all the way to the end of our stay Mark & Carolyn went above and beyond.  The location is outstanding, the cottage is a perfect blend of old and new and every desire was already accounted for.  Connections to local businesses meant our days were filled with local produce and knowledge.  We enjoyed every moment.  Only wish we could have stayed longer.  Hopefully word doesn’t get too far though, I’d hate to miss out on coming back.
  • Andy & Kirsty – Waikerie, SA

    • Awesome little place to stay! Thankyou for the wonderful hospitality & all the little touches that makes it feel like home.  Will recommend & return! 🙂

    • 25th – 28th July 2018

    • Facebook review 5 Stars: Just had a lovely relaxing few days here and cannot recommend it more highly: cosy, well presented, full of history, wonderful quirky and super friendly hosts. Thanks guys 🙂
  • Sara, Ben & Carol – Shoalhaven, NSW

    • Thank you Carolyn & Mark for providing such a beautiful place to stay.  We come for our sister’s birthday and the cottage and the gardens made our stay very special.  The many welcome touches (flowers, biscuits, wood fire)  Already lit when we arrived made us feel very welcome.  Thank you so much,  from all of us.

    • 8th – 11th June 2018 (Long Weekend)

  • Jan, Ian & Naomi – Clare, SA

    • Carolyn & Mark – What a magnificent B&B!  Your beautiful garden is peaceful and filled with delights.  The cottage is magnificent.  So many treasures & tasteful touches that were a delight to find.   Your provisions were generous, tasty and wonderfully local. The restful, homely atmosphere you have created is remarkable.  An absolute gem! Thank you!

    • 21st May – 25th May 2018

  • Eric & Michelle – Mclaren Vale, SA

    • Thank you so much for creating such a gorgeous retreat!  So many extra touches and such generous provisions.  We thoroughly enjoyed our “Midweek Getaway” and will definitely recommend to others.  You are also doing a wonderful job of promoting the produce and attractions of the region.  🙂

    • 15th – 17th May 2018

  • Paul, Sandra & Graham Ulysses AGM 2018 – Perth, WA

    • Lost for words – wonderful, Serenity, Warm & welcoming

    • Cheers the mad bikers from WA xxx

    • Thanks for our stay in your cottage, yummy food, home from home.

    • 9th-13th May 2018

  • Richard & Vicki – Hahndorf, SA

    • Thanks for a great stay!  This is a brilliant little cottage, everything you could possibly want is here & great provisions too, just wish we had more time to enjoy it!   R & V

    • 5-6th May 2018

  • Jake & Shanie – Mildura, Vic

    • Thanks again for having us in your beautiful B&B!  As always we found it so relaxing & peaceful.  Thanks so much for the little treats, they were delicious!

    • 27th – 29th April 2018

  • Jannette & Chris – Berri, SA

    • Thank you for your amazing hospitality.  We have had such a refreshing time here at Crossfield Cottage.  We have felt very spoilt. Food & wine were amazing.

    • 23rd – 25th April 2018

    • Google review:  5 Stars  We stayed at Crossfield cottage and had the most wonderfully relaxingtime.  There are so many things to explore at Crossfield Cottage.  The main bathroom is stunning.  However the outdoor bath is the perfecr feature!!  Carolyn & Mark are so generous and the food and wine were exceptional.
  • Ying, Pat & Dex – Adelaide, SA

    • Ying:   This is the best ever treat that my children have offered me.  And the thing is I’m sharing this wonderful cottage/experience with my Children.  Thank you Mark & Carolyn!         Love n’ peace  Ying, Pat & Dex

    • 18th-20 April 2018

  • Lynda & Brad – Kingston on Murray, SA

    • Once again- A HUGE THANKYOU from the both of us.  Last year we really did not get enough time to relax and enjoy this beautiful home – this time we have more than made up for that – A much needed down time& the food & wine Delicious xxx

    • 13- 15th April 2018

  • Laura Durham – Melbourne, Vic

    • An absolutely beautiful cottage is an idyllic location. Superbly styled and immaculately presented, this accommodation is perfect for relaxation.  Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and looking after me so well.  Cant wait to come back ! xx

    • 9th- 12th April 2018

    • Facebook review 5 Stars
    •  Crossfield Cottage is a beautiful immaculately presented bed and breakfast.  In an idyllic location, it is the perfect place to relax and have as a base to explore the Riverland.  Everything is thought of right down to finishing touches.  Thank you for your generous hospitality. can’t wait to return.
  • O’Neill Family – Roxby Downs, SA

    • Thank you for a most enchanted Easter Weekend.  The Children loved exploring the backyard & having an outdoor bath.  We loved the beautiful touches of decor, and could feel the love in every room.  We will definitely be back to this beautiful hideaway.                          Happy Paddocks x

    • 30th March-2nd April 2018

  • Pete & Christine – Adelaide, SA

    • Although not advertised as a wheel chair friendly, this cottage is more accessible than many that are so advertised.  (with my own ramps at front and back of cottage).  The main bedroom is wonderfully roomy and the shower is excellent.  *Pete.

    • I loved all the books- read none of my own while here – and the period items, many familiar to me from my childhood on the farm.  A great conversation piece. The most comfortable & welcoming B&B we have stayed in. *Chris.

    •  23rd – 29th March 2018

  • Sharon & Grant – Adelaide, SA

    • Crossfield Cottage is a magnificent B&B filled with such charm & love.  From those extra special treats inside and the wonderful gardens we can’t “thank you” enough for our wonderful stay.  We can’t wait till our next visit back here.  Many thanks Carolyn & Mark for your generous hospitality and for allowing us to stay a extra night.   “A beautiful Anniversary Weekend”       9th – 12th March 2018

  • Hewert Family – Qld & SA

    • We are here to celebrate Zenas birthday 74th year!  What a lovely place for such an wonderful day. The decoration reflects the year of her birth.

    • Thank you Carolyn & Mark It is all beautiful here, such attention to detail & we have had a marvelous time for Zenas 74th  & Jacks 80th birthdays.  Special times Ann & Family.

    • 2nd – 5th March, 2018

  • Ben & Elisa – Adelaide, SA

    • 10 out of 10

    • Wow – this is such a special & beautiful place – your positive energy can be felt in every room.  Thank you for your kind welcoming.

    • Here is a rhyme for you:

    • This is such a lovely house,  We didn’t even find one mouse,  We really enjoyed the gardens & grounds, complemented with the natural sounds.   We admired the ornaments & flowers and took soothing baths & showers. The kitchen supports joyful cooking.   We can’t wait to make another booking!        Thank you

    • 17th – 19th February 2018

  • Solomon Gichuki – Adelaide, SA

    • Very Cleverly presented, brilliant thoughts on the presentation of those ancient items! Loved the neatness, clean, quiet, homely and above all supplies galore! Will be spreading the word to friends out there!  Thanks.

    • 13th February 2018

  • Patterson Family – Melbourne, Vic

    • What a fabulous place!  You’ve created a beautiful place – full of such thoughtful touches and gorgeous spaces.

      Crossfield Cottage exceeded our expectations – your generous treats & provisions were much appreciated by us all.

      (the kids especially love the chocolates & mints 🙂 )Thank you

    • 26th – 28th January 2018

  • Mary Pickett & Janet Farrall  (AISSA)  – Adelaide, SA 

    • Loved the cottage & the quirky garden.  Great shower too!  Came for work – will come again for a holiday.  Attention to detail was marvellous. Many thanks

    • 23rd January 2018                                                     

  • Adam, Sonia & Family – Wikawatt, SA

    • Wonderful, relaxing time here.  Beautiful home and gardens.  A job well done to you both!   Thank you for all the extra goodies, will be passing your beautiful holiday home on to others.  Again Thank you xxx

    • 17th – 20th January 2018

  • Catherine & Rolf / Helen & Steven – Sydney NSW /Adelaide SA

    • Most enjoyable couple of days in your beautiful cottage.  We appreciated the provisions.  A most relaxing time.

    • 14th – 16th January 2018

  • Bob & Ellen – Port Adelaide –                South Australia

    • A lovely and beautiful place for our 50th Wedding Anniversary.   Loved all the special touches

    • 5th – 8th January 2018.

    • Facebook review as well – 5 Stars
    • Thanks Carolyn and Mark for such a beautiful cottage to relax in and enjoy as we quietly celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary.  Such attention to detail has made your cottage very special to us.  The cottage is beautifully decorated and the gardens are an absolute delight to wander through and take in all the special features to see at each turn. A very special place.
  • The Pittaway Family – Reynella – South Australia

  • Dec/January 2018

    • Thank you for an amazing week.  We loved the cottage – it was full of beautiful touches. You were very generous with all of the little extras.  We have spent lots of time at the lake & exploring the Riverland.  Will definitely recommend it to our friends.                                        Dec 27th  2017 – 3rd of January 2018

    • Facebook review as well – 5 Stars

  • Christine & Paul – Aberfoyle Park – South Australia  

  • December 2017

    • So pleased we found this treasure on the internet.  Perfect location & environment for our family Christmas.  The cottage is perfect.  The bath is wonderful. The ambience perfect.  The gardens, a delight to explore.  We will certainly be back again & will spread the word to family & friends,  You have done a great job Mark & Carolyn.  All the best for the future.  PS. The christmas touches were unexpected, beautiful & appreciated.                                                 24th – 26th December 2017

    • Facebook Review as well – 5 Stars  From our first sight of the cottage, we were blown away. Everything is perfect.  The gardens are an adventure on their own. The rooms are spacious, homely and immaculately presented.  The bed is comfortable, and the en suite!!!! Wow.  We had our family Christmas lunch under the patio and enjoyed the fairy lights in the garden when the sun went down.  I have no hesitation in highly recommending Crossfield cottage.  We certainly be staying again.  Thank you Carolyn & Mark, you have done a fantastic job.           regards Christine & Paul
  • Allan & Sarah – Kepa, South Australia –

  • December 2017

    • Thank you for our wonderful stay in you peaceful cottage.  Very well presented, generous supplies with gifts & supplies.  Honestly the best B&B we have stayed in.   One I will be sure to recommend to family & friends.  Thank you…..     “We loved this place! My wife wanted to move in permanently”

    • 1st-3rd December 2017.

  • Wayne Swift – Melbourne, Vic  – November 2017

    • Crossfield Cottage is a refuge and haven, a place of peace and tranquility, a place of renewal & restoration.  Your presentation, hospitality and generosity is exceptional, many thanks.

    • Mark And Carolyn thank you for your hospitality, the cottage is a work of art, the food extraordinary & abundant, I have really appreciated the opportunity to stay here.

    • 10th-12th November 2017

  • Wayne, Liz & Sarah Huckel – South Plympton, SA –  

  • October 2017

    • Peaceful & Enjoyable.  A wonderful place to stay.                                                                                               1st class throughout with interesting & relevant attention to detail.  The spirit & history of the cottage evident. Fantastic!! Thanks for the lovely food.  Great job restoring the cottage.  We have stayed in B&B’s over the years. Yours is far & away supreme in all aspects.  Well done.                        4th-6th October 2017

    • Facebook review as well – 5 stars

  • Catherine O’Donovan & John, Sam, Jack, Michael & Luke Teakle –     

  •      October 2017  Glenelg, SA

    • Great place, beautiful gardens & outdoor eating/relaxing patio.  Thank you for the lovely food.  We were here for a wedding & only regret was we didn’t have enough time at the cottage to fully enjoy the ambiance.                                          27th-29th October 2017.

  • Terry & Joy Bourke – Mildura, Vic

  • 21st-23rd October 2017

    • This Cottage is Awesome, the photos on Facebook are lovely but in ‘reality’ much better.  Straight away you feel yourself start to relax, the attention to detail throughout the cottage is truly beautiful. We had a lovely relaxing time.  Definitely be back & will be spreading the word. Thanks so much 🙂

  • Facebook review as well – 5 stars Everything about this beautiful cottage from the minute you arrive, the owner greeted us and explained everything about the place and surrounding area, what was on, where to eat, it was so relaxing and beautiful and lovely, will definitely be back & would definitely recommend this beautiful cottage to everyone, thank you

  • Karen, Martin & Family – Warooka, SA –            

  • October 2017

    • A gorgeous cottage in a great location.  Thank you for the attention to details & treats.  We had a lovely break – a good mix of touristy stuff & relaxing!  Thanks “AMAZING”.

    •  8th – 11th October 2017

    • Facebook  – 5 Stars  We had a great 3 nights at Crossfield cottage.  We received a friendly welcome on arrival, we appreciated the thoughtfulness and extras included.  The cottage was an excellent base for checking out the Riverland.  The cottage was perfect for relaxing after a day of sightseeing.  Outdoor are was a great spot for spending time together.  Thanks Carolyn, Mark & family.

 

  • Trevor & Janet – Hahndorf, SA –

  • September 2017

    • A Beautiful restoration done with Love & Care. The garden area is a blessing to sit in and relax in.  A time of nurturing the soul.   22nd-24th September 2017.

  • Mike & Ann Hill – Adelaide –

  • September 2017

    • This Place Calls for words like exceptional, high class, beautiful and it still doesn’t describe it well.  Thank you for the privilege of staying here.  Only down side – having to go home.                                                  September 9th, 2017

  • Rick & Heather – Woodcroft, Adelaide,            

  •  September 2017

    • What can we say, but wow!  Beautiful, homely, Welcoming.                                                                                                                     Thank you for a great stay and would love to come again.                       1st-3rd September 2017

  • Jake & Shanie – Mildura, Victoria, August 2017

    • Thank you So Much for an unforgettable weekend!  The gardens are magical, and the cottage is divine.  We hope to stay again, and again, and again 🙂   25th-27th August 2017

    • Facebook Review as well  – 5 Stars   Such a beautiful spot. Private, romantic and very luxurious.  Thanks so much to Carolyn & mark, Jake and myself had a wonderfully relaxing weekend.

    • Google review:  5 Stars    Very serene, luxrious and romantic, Loved every minute of our stay.
  • Garry & Lee Grigg – Adelaide,  August   2017

    • Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Such a beautiful place to stay.  You have all done a wonderful job creating a place of peace, rest and rejuvenation.         Bless you xx

    •                          4th-6th August

    • Facebook review by Christan Grigg August 2017

      Thank you Carolyn and Mark for making it so easy for my siblings & I to organise a surprise getaway & weekend for our parents.  Being able to know that the Cottage can provide extra indulgences and the personal touches took it to the next level.  Thank you.

    • Facebook review as well –  5 Stars

  • Solomon Family – Adelaide,  July 2017

    • A Fantastic holiday home with a relaxed environment.  We all loved it all.  Didn’t want to leave at all !! Thanks Solomon Family It was a great blessing to all of us.                                                                                                                    Love & God Bless!  Deshan, Christine, Elisha, Jerusha & Isaiah Solomon.  13th- 16th July

    • Facebook review 5 stars

  • Andrew & Bernadette – Adelaide, July 2017

    • Thank you so much, such a beautiful & peaceful place.  You have done a great job on Crossfield Cottage and to show the history as well.  Loved it all.  1st & 2nd July

  • Richard Guy – Hobart, June 2017

    • Beautiful cottage, so quiet, restful and relaxing.  Oh, the serenity.  Loved it!   23-26th June 2017

  • David & Felicity –  Adelaide, May 2017

    • Everything was just lovely.  We really enjoyed our stay.  Great bath and beautiful fireplace.  Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.  Would love to come stay again.   19th-21st May

  • Robyn Pagey –  Adelaide, April 2017   

    • If you want a wonderful accommodation experience Crossfield Cottage is the place to stay. Everything is supplied for you eg. Wine, beautiful fresh, semi dried and chocolate covered figs, the most amazing breakfast provisions, comfy beds, Wifi, Netflix, USB charging ports ( for people who need their technology on holiday ) games to play, books to read, fantastic bathrooms and laundry with washer and dryer, outside area to sit and relax and also eat……..

      Also loved the garden, a book with the history of the cottage and plenty of parking space. Carolyn and Mark have provided a delightful experience for their guests.

      • Facebook Review as well  –  5 Stars

  • Bradley and Lynda Price – Glossop, April 2017

    • Well! What can we say – Truly amazing home – so wish we had longer – Thank you so much for the wines, chocolates, flowers – everything! LOVED IT ALL!!!!  xxx

    • Facebook review as well – 5 Stars

    • Facebook review  as well Jayne Aitchinson -5 stars

  • Jun, Melody and Family – Geelong, April 2017

    • We stayed in this place for 4 nights and this place is very exceptional a very well built place. I hope everyone who stays here takes care of it because it is built with love. Special thanks to Carolyn and Mark for the opportunity, we will highly recommend it to our friends who would like to visit Riverland. Thanks again.

    • Facebook review as well   –  5 Stars   Stayed on this place for 4 nights this place is exceptional we will highly recommend it to our friends who would like to visit the Riverland.

    • Google review:  5 Stars  Its a very relaxing place and very nice.  We highly recommend it for everyone who wants to visit the Riverland